Seniors kept busy by a host of competitions

By Tim Leigh in Golf

Dainton Park Golf Club

Dainton Park seniors have had a busy July full of domestic competitions as well as three friendly matches.

With the monthly medal (white tee), Wagstaff Trophy third round and Mike Morgan Trophy first round all played, it also brings the seniors’ player of the year competition to its halfway point.

The player of the year competition is based on 15 major competitions played during the season, with points awarded for the top 20 (and tied) players in each competition.

The leader board for this season has 69 players with player of the year points, but it shows Colin Ferris in top spot with a fantastic 107 points having had one win, five more top 10 finishes and a tied 12th finish in the eight competitions played to date – only missing out on points in the July medal by one shot.

Ferris has dropped from 24 to 21 handicap during the season to date and is a great example of hard work and practice paying off.

Tied in second place are Derek Conbeer and Roger Newcombe, both with 85 points. With another six qualifying competitions to go and therefore a maximum 120 points to be gained, there is still all to play for, with mid- and late-season form coming into play.

The monthly medal competitions were played on Monday, July 3, with the white tee competition being won by Terry Membery (16) with a fantastic round of net 65, with Roger Newcombe (11) second on net 70, and Stuart Witheridge (15) third with net 71.

The yellow tee competition winner was Martyn Pendlebury (27) with net 68, from Ray Evans (17) on net 69, and Steve Porter (23) third on net 71.

The Wagstaff Trophy is won by the player with the best combined stableford score from three of four rounds. The third round of this trophy competition was played on Monday, July 10.

In division one the winner was Wolf Engelmann (10) with a great 40 points. In division two the winner was Alan Rastrick (17) with a fantastic 42 points the best score of the day, and the division three winner was Colin Ferris (22), with another excellent score of 41 points.

The Mike Morgan Trophy is played over two rounds combining the best net total. The first round of this competition was played on Monday, July 24. The best score of the day was from David Bray (28) with a spectacular net 64 to win division three. The second best score was recorded by John Hobson (17) with an excellent net 68 to win division two. And in third place overall and winner of division one was Roger Newcombe (11) with another great score of net 69.

A fun summer pairs competition was played on Monday, July 17 as a four ball better ball stableford played off 9/10 handicap. The winners were Ferai Akyol and Peter Taverner  with 46 points, from Robert Benham and Anthony Whitelock, Stuart Macker­rell and Bill Board, and Roger Newcombe and Terry Membury all three pairs scoring 45 points.

In between the regular Monday competitions the Dainton Park seniors have played three friendly fixtures in July, and unfortunately had the away match at Stover cancelled due to bad weather conditions.

At home to Torquay, their local rivals, Dainton Park seniors won 5-1 giving an aggregate 6-6 draw over the two legs.

Don Maud and Mike Pope won four and two, Mick Roberts and Graham Harris lost two and one, Brian Smith and David Rowe won two up, Clem Fisher and Derrick Singleton won six and four, Stuart MacKerrell and Martyn Pendlebury won three and two, and Roger Haines and Bob Benham won two and one.

A 3½-2½ home victory against Tiverton also gave Dainton Park seniors a 6½ - 5½ overall aggregate win against their ‘northern’ opponents.

Peter Northcott and Rob Seaton lost three and two, Bob Benham and John Hill won four and three, Graham Harris and Clem Fisher won five and three, Andy Bell and Dave Rip­ping won three and two, Wolf Engelmann and Barry Myers lost three and one, and John Strainge and David Rowe halved.

Having been white washed 6-0 away at Churston at the beginning of the season, a sterling 5-1 home victory for Dainton Park seniors was not enough to square the aggregate score – Churston winning 7-5. 

Peter Northcott and Phil Wiltshire halved, Wolf Englemann and Don Maud won four and three, Colin Evans and Terry Membery won three and two, Mel Langdon and Peter Kelly won two and one, Barry Myers and Alan Drewett Halved, and Dennis Arnum and Dave Ripping won seven and six.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C